Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Object reference not set to an instance of an object...
ianr900
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 31, 2017 3:19:35 PM(UTC)
Groups: Member

Hi All -
I am new to UltiDev and web servers in general, but I am trying to set up an ASP.NET web page created with MS VS. It uses a database and SQL express.

I built the site and tested it in VS by running it in the development server, and all seems well.
I installed UltiDev on my windows 7 machine, copied the web page directory structure, including the default.aspx, database file and web.config to a USB drive and registered it with UltiDev.

When click 'browse application' it pops up in chrome and everything works fine. However, when I try to do the same thing on my windows 10 laptop I get the 'Object reference not set to an instance of an object' on this line 'Line 87: If myDataReader.Read() Then'.

As it works fine under win 7, there can't be anything wrong with the code, and I am thinking it is something to do with the SQL Express on the Laptop.
So, my question is, how can I tell if SQL Express is working correctly?

And, is there any reason it wouldn't work under win 10?

Any help or suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Ian
Ultidev Team
#2 Posted : Friday, September 1, 2017 7:59:18 PM(UTC)
Ultidev Team

Groups: Administration

Was thanked: 60 time(s) in 59 post(s)
Hi,