Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Path to root
masseyf
#1 Posted : Friday, October 28, 2011 8:26:14 AM(UTC)
Groups: Member

Was thanked: 3 time(s) in 3 post(s)
Hi!

I have an issue with paths when using UWS. My application my originally designed to work under Cassini and it ran great. But now under UWS, paths that used to work fine are invalid.

I’m hosting the application under a virtual folder named “ACD80”. For example I have a help link in a master page that exists in the root folder. The page that is constructed from that master page exists in the “auth” folder under the root. The help page is located in the “help” folder under the root folder.

Here's the structure of the source folders:

Root (ACD80)
---- master page containing the link to help html file
---- Auth folder
---- ---- Page that gets constructed from the master page
---- Help folder
---- ----- HTML help file

I can’t find a way to specify that the help link should be relative to the root (ACD80). Here are coding examples and their results:

If the help path is coded as “/Help/TopicSections.html” in the aspx master page, it resolves to “http://localhost:9993/Help/TopicSections.html” which is wrong. ASP.Net specifications specifies that a path starting with “/” should translate to a location under the Web site root, which is not the case, unless I misinterpret what root means. My web site root in this case should be its virtual directory ACD80. So I don’t understand why I would get a path that does not include my virtual directoy.

If the help path is coded as “Help/TopicSections.html” then it is resolved to “http://localhost:9993/ACD80/auth/Help/TopicSections.html” which is correctly coded as far as ASP.NET goes but wrong for the application because the help folder is directly in the root, not under the “auth”.

“~” will not work (it’s not a server-side control) so I assume that’s normal.